COMM notes

Keeping up with Drury's Department of Communication

Alumni Profile: Andrea Harp

Leave a comment

andrea harp image 2Andrea Harp
Class of 2010
Communications Manager
Ozarks Community Hospital

Andrea Harp can speak to the power of the Drury alumni network. When starting her job search as a new college graduate in the spring of 2010, she made a connection with Carrie (DeLaquil) Richardson, class of 2003. Carrie, now the Business Development Director at Ozarks Community Hospital, encouraged Andrea to apply for a Social Media and Marketing Coordinator position that was becoming available on her communication team. Andrea got the job and in 18 months later was promoted to Communications Manager.

“As a soon-to-be graduate, I knew the Drury connection was unique; but I didn’t realize just how large of a role it would play in my future career. Not only did the Drury network connect me with my future boss; but it has also allowed me to maintain and build new connections in my work and non-work related activities.”

If you want to catch Andrea outside of work, visit Springfield East Jazzercise to experience one her sweat inducing classes. Andrea became a certified Jazzercise instructor in June 2012 and teaches three to five classes per week. “Ironically enough, I found out about Jazzercise while networking with a Drury alumnae. Katie Woody, the owner of Springfield East Jazzercise, encouraged me to try a class and then less than a year later trained me to become an instructor. I love that I’ve found an activity that incorporates both cardio dance and strength in a 60 minute work out. I never thought I’d say this, but I actually look forward to sweating!”

Leave a Reply

