COMM notes

Keeping up with Drury's Department of Communication

Student Tidbit: Cathy Robinson

Leave a comment

telephoneLoving life in London by Cathy Robinson

Since the very first presentation given to my Alpha Seminar class during Freshman Orientation, I knew I wanted to study abroad. Actually, I think I knew before that.

Drury’s outstanding study abroad program was one of the things that really stuck out to me when I came on a campus visit during high school. As I packed my things to leave home for London two months ago, it was hard to believe that what I’d looked forward to for so long was finally happening.

London has been amazing so far, and I can’t believe my time here is already almost halfway over. Living at Regent’s University in Regent’s Park is incredible.  Taking the Tube (the underground) a few stops gets me to Big Ben, which still excites me every time I see it.  I get to experience a lot of cultural diversity in London; I have classes with students who come from more than 20 different countries.

I also get to do some traveling!  My favorite day trips were to Stonehenge and the Harry Potter Studio tour (I’m a huge Harry Potter nerd). Coming up next is a 10-day fall break trip to Dublin, Stockholm, Copenhagen, and Amsterdam.

I feel so thankful for this opportunity to spend four months abroad.  I can’t wait to see what the second half of my semester has in store for me!

Leave a Reply

