COMM notes

Keeping up with Drury's Department of Communication

Khrystsina Tryboi loves working in NY and being a new mom

Leave a comment

When Khrystsina Tryboi graduated from Drury in May 2010 with a degree in advertising and public relations, she was 100% certain she was bound for New York City to pursue her passion for marketing and social media. She quickly found out that a little patience was needed to acquire her dream job.

Khrystsina is the marketing and social media manager at CoreDigitalWords and Social2B. She is responsible for all marketing within the CoreDigitalWorks organization and is working on website redesign, newsletter campaigns and lead generation.

It took me a while to get here. After graduation I had to take on several jobs which had nothing to do with what I ultimately wanted to do. Now, I am doing exactly what I wanted to do when I was in school.

Khrystsina advises students to know their limits — taking on more than you can handle will backfire. She also recommends meeting with industry experts to learn about their jobs.

I had the privilege of meeting Jane Brite, former executive vice president at Young & Rubicam. Jane explained to me how the industry works, provided important feedback on Drury assignments, and gave me a sense of direction. After meeting her, I knew I had made the right career choice. (Jane Brite has also served as a member of Drury’s Board of Trustees).

While at Drury, Khrystsina was a member of AD Team and worked on the State Farm case study. tryboi

She gave birth to her first child, Mikhail, on June 4 and is thrilled to be a mom.

You can connect with Khrystsina on Twitter (@ktryboi) or follow her blog ktryboi.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

